Providing an alternative to "the drink culture"
for young people across Ireland


No Name Club is a Silver Health Quality Mark Organisation
Contact us if you are interested in volunteering
Congrats to the 2017 National Youth Award Winners


St Joseph’s in the news

St Joseph’s (Mayfield) No Name Club’s upcoming graduation has made headlines in County Cork. The Evening Echo has reported that members of the Cork City club are set to be rewarded for their contributions to the club and the wider community. Journalist Claire Sutton spoke with the club secretary Joe Mullane and focussed on the contributions made to the club by Dale O’Sullivan, who previously won Hostess of the Year, and Eva O’Gorman, a club leader who contested the 2010 Rose of Tralee Competition. Pictured with this story is Eva O’Gorman. The graduation ceremony will take place on November 22nd and Claire’s report is reprinted below:

Graduation ceremony to reward members
Members of the St Joseph ’s Mayfield No Name Club are set to be rewarded for their contributions to the club and the wider community at a special graduation ceremony.
The young people will be presented with certificates in personal development and organizational and development skills to mark their involvement in the club in the 2009-2010 season.
Among the 24 members who will be presented with certificates will be Dale O’Sullivan and Eva O’Gorman, who will receive Distinguished Merit Awards for their outstanding contribution to the promotion of the No Name Club.
Dale will receive her award for being the first club representative to contest the National No Name Club Awards Youth Final where she was chosen by the adjudicating panel as the winner of the prestigious Hostess of the Year.
No Name Club Honorary Secretary Joe Mullane Dale was a wonderful ambassador for Mayfield during the year.
“Dale performed her duties in an excellent manner that epitomized a confidence of a person much more mature than her 18 years.”
Eva will receive her award for being the first junior leader in the St Joseph ’s club to contest the Cork regional final of the 2010 Rose of Tralee competition.
Eva is a teacher at Scoil Mhuire Banrion and joined the Mayfield club in 2002.
In 2003 she became a club hostess and the following year made a significant contribution in organising the national finals which were held in Cork for the first time.
Joe said: “At the Cork heat of the Rose of Tralee, Eva was complimented by the judging panel for doing the No Name Club proud.”
The No Name Club allows young people to have fun and make friends all over Ireland by taking part in competitions and trips away, while developing confidence and having a say in what happens in the community.
The club, which offers an alternative to the alcohol and drugs culture in society, has more than 40 affiliated branches operating successfully countrywide involving more than 15,000 young people.
The Mayfield branch was founded in 1998 and since its inception has catered for more than 400 young people.
For more information, contact Honorary Secretary Joe Mullane on (021) 4550059.