Providing an alternative to "the drink culture"
for young people across Ireland


No Name Club is a Silver Health Quality Mark Organisation
Contact us if you are interested in volunteering
Congrats to the 2017 National Youth Award Winners


Region 3 report

February 7th, 2011

All hands were on board as the Region 3 final of the No Name Club National Youth Awards got underway on Saturday February 5th in the SMA Hall, Claregalway, Co Galway. This was a wonderful venue to hold the regional finals as included in its features are a nice stage, large hall, a well equipped kitchen and a quiet room for interviewing away from all the noise.

Approximately 150 people, most of them hosts and hostesses from the Claregalway, Athenry, Headford, Mountbellew, Gort and Kilbride No Name Clubs, were present.

The judging panel were John Murphy, a No Name Club Director from Limerick; Catherine Cooney, Director of the Haverty Centre in Loughrea, Co Galway, and Cian McCormack from Limerick, National Host of the Year in 2004. The stage interviews were conducted by Esther Geraghty from Tuam, Co Galway.

The one- to- one interviews started at 1.20pm. First into ‘the ring’ was host David Molloy from Claregalway No Name Club. He was followed by Philip Ward and Erin de Burca from Athenry, Sean Scally and Orla Cradock of Headford, Padraig Gilmore and Shauna Naughton representing Mountbellew, Niall Perrill and Aoife O’ Shea from Gort, and last but by no means least was Tracey McDermott of Kilbride No Name Club. Following on from the interviews, the judges said they were extremely impressed with the calibre of the young people who sat before them for interview. Each and every competitor did their club proud.

The WII competition started at 2pm and saw backhanders, fore-handers and smashes to the fore. Teams competed at tennis and the competition was a highlight of an action-packed day.  Great interest was shown by all the hosts and hostesses in the event that was organised by Niall Dempsey and Doireann Gilmore of Mountbellew No Name Club. The winning team comprised of Damien Culken of Athenry No Name Club, Melissa Nugent and Ailish Cotter from Headford and Fergal Bane of Athenry. Each of the winners received a prize and the competition was a great way for hosts and hostesses to get to know each other from different clubs.

Sharon Ryan of Athenry, Ann Furey of Claregalway and their many helpers provided all the food and drinks needed for the day and not a person was left hungry or thirsty. The food was very good and the hospitality next to none.

Sound man for the event was Jarlath Ryan from Athenry, who provided music all day and the sound for the on-stage interviews. Jarlath’s choice of music helped create a friendly atmosphere in the hall and some of the hosts and hostesses took to the floor to dance and have fun. Athenry hosts went a step further when they gave a superb display of break dancing.

Before going on stage, each host and hostess met with MC Esther Geraghty and she put the teenagers at ease. At 4.30p.m the stage interviews took place. Esther asked the hosts and hostesses about their school, hobbies, and where they could see themselves six years from now. The party pieces varied, and included singing, break dancing, poetry, music and comedy. With the interviews finished and the party pieces performed, the judges adjudicated to the interview room to make the very tough decision to choose a host and hostess to go forward and represent the region.

As everybody in the hall awaited the results, the winning hosts and hostesses were presented with their prizes for the Wii tennis competition.

Then came the moment everyone was waiting for: the result. All three judges went on stage and it was decided that Cian McCormack would talk on behalf of them. Cian complemented all who had taken part in the competition and said the standard was so high the two decisions were very difficult to make. He then came to announcing the winners: Niall Perrill, Gort No Name Club host and Shauna Naughton, Mountbellew hostess, would go forward to represent the region in the competition. There were cheers and celebrations following on from the announcement and the winning host and hostess were presented with their trophies by John Murphy and Catherine Cooney. All the participants were also congratulated and presented with their certificates on stage

Anne Donohue brilliantly captured the day on her camera and her pictures from it can be viewed on the website gallery.

The event organisers were delighted to have four No Name Club Directors present for the event: Bernie Divilly from Headford, Stephen Banahan of Kilbride, John Murphy from Limerick and Anne Donohue from Portumna.

It was a hectic day for all involved but it was an event enjoyed by all and it will prove to be a memorable occasion.

The success of the event was due to the co-operation and goodwill of all involved. The event organisers want to pass on a special word of thanks to our three judges:  John Murphy, Catherine Cooney and Cian McCormack. Thanks also to our stage interviewer Esther Geraghty; to Fr. Sean who provided the venue; to John Brennan of Claregalway who worked from morning to evening and made everyone welcome; to Ann Furey and Sharon Ryan who provided all the lovely food; to Vincent Ryan of Athenry and his son Jarlath who provided the sound and music; to Tommy Kelly from Athleague who supplied two large screen TVs for the Wii games; to Paul Sweeney who set up the games; and to Niall Dempsey and Doireann Gilmore who organised the Wii competition.

Niall and Shauna will now go on to represent the region in the national awards and we wish them the very best in doing so.

no images were found