Providing an alternative to "the drink culture"
for young people across Ireland


No Name Club is a Silver Health Quality Mark Organisation
Contact us if you are interested in volunteering
Congrats to the 2017 National Youth Award Winners


Region 1 report

February 8th, 2011

The fun, entertainment and competition was in Mayo and the celebrations were carried on in Donegal and Sligo. Clubs from the three counties in the North West gathered in Claremorris on Saturday February 5th to participate in the Region 1 final of the No Name Club National Youth Awards. And it was clubs from the travelling counties who returned home from The Yew County with the winning hostess and host on board as Andrea Keeney of Donegal No Name Club and Ross McCarrick of Tubbercurry No Name Club were selected to represent the region in the next stage of the competition, the semi-finals.

Andrea and Ross go forward from a group of very admirable and commendable young people who should be very proud of their representation of their clubs. Colm Gallagher and Eleanor Roe were the Claremorris Host and Hostess, Killian Glynn and Carol Devaney the Castlebar representatives, Ben Sheridan was the Donegal host and Niamh Brennan was the Tubbercurry Hostess.

Around 100 people the Mayo clubs of Castlebar, Claremorris, Kiltimagh and Swinford, the Donegal club of Donegal Town, and the Sligo club of Tubbercurry, attended the event. Proceedings began at 3pm as the clubs got together at the Claremorris No Name Club Youth Centre. The WII machine was busy, as hosts and hostesses played together and competitively with tennis, golf and dancing being the favoured options. It was all good fun and the young people, male and female, also competed against each other in competitions on the pool table and on the darts board. Others enjoyed Sky Sports and many of the adults relaxed – somewhat – by watching Ireland struggle to beat Italy in the Six Nations rugby.

As the entertainment was ongoing in the No Name Club centre, the clubs representative hosts and hostesses were interviewed next door in the Dalton Inn Hotel. This was the first phase of the competition for them and the next was the onstage interviews and party pieces, which were staged in the hotel in front of all the club hosts, hostesses and adult committee members. Event MC Paddy Burke, the No Name Club Host of the Year in 2007 was MC and he was in typically funny and jovial mood, and had the young people feeling very comfortable and totally at ease on stage.   Paddy asked the hosts and hostesses about their involvement with the No Name Club, what the organisation means for them, about their own interests and hobbies, and what occupation they would like to go into when they finish their studies. The responses from the hosts and hostess were very interesting and informative. Throughout the process, the atmosphere in the hall was extremely supportive from the one hundred people who were watching on. The party pieces comprised of singing, the playing of musical instruments – guitar and electric keyboard – and poetry.

Pat Heeney, No Name Club Training Officer for the region and one of the event organisers, thanked everyone for attending and Claremorris No Name Club for their role in hosting the competition.

With the private and public interviews complete and the party pieces performed, the fate of the participants now rested with the judges. Sean Kenna, chairman of Claremorris No Name Club and a member of the organisation’s board of directors, arrived on stage to announce who had been selected to represent the region. Not a member of the judging panel, he said the judges had told him it had been very hard to pick two winners from those taking part, with all entrants being to a very high standard and outstanding representatives in their own right. Sean complemented all for taking part and paid tribute to the adult volunteers who support the young people as they play their important roles within their communities. He thanked all the hosts and hostesses who had travelled to the event and commented on the excellent friendly, fun and supportive atmosphere there had been throughout the day. He concluded by wishing the two winners the very best of luck for the competition going forward and then announced Andrea Keeney of Donegal No Name Club and Ross McCarrick of Tubbercurry would be going forward to the semi-finals. There were great cheers in the venue and lots of congratulations as Andrea and Ross accepted their awards.  They now move onto the next stage of the competition, the semi-finals, with the best wishes of their clubs and region behind them.