Providing an alternative to "the drink culture"
for young people across Ireland


No Name Club is a Silver Health Quality Mark Organisation
Contact us if you are interested in volunteering
Congrats to the 2017 National Youth Award Winners

St. Josephs, Mayfield

St. Josephs, Mayfield

Where we meet: St Joseph’s Community Centre, Old Youghal Road, Mayfield

When we meet: Monday

Adult Committee: Natasha Walshe (Chairperson), Joe Mullane (Secretary/PRO), Anthony O’Sullivan (Treasurer), Danielle Laprise, Helen Courtney, Deirdre O’Flynn, Dale O’Sullivan, Danielle Laprise, Noel Crowley, Sabrina Carolan, Stephanie Whiteford, Stephney West. 

Founded: 1998

A brief history of our club:Our club was formed in 1998.  The club is aimed at 15 – 18 year olds.

Click here to check us out on Facebook

Designated Programme Officer: Sean Twomey


National Youth Awards 2017


St Joseph’s Eva contest Rose final

Cork based No Name Club St Josephs (Mayfield) Club has set a trend by entering one of their former junior leaders as a contestant in the Cork City heat of the 2010 Rose of Tralee competition. The event took place in the Radisson Hotel, Little Island, Cork on Thursday 15th April last where The Mayfield No Name Clubs nominee was chosen by the adjudicating panel to contest the final of the Cork Rose selection.

Eva O Gorman, the 23 year old Cork Rose finalist joined the St Josephs (Mayfield) No Name Club in 2002 and following her participation in a training programme in Personal Development Leadership and Organisational Skills Eva became a hostess in the Club in 2003.  Eva was among the group of Club members who undertook a Junior Leader Training Course in 2004 and she went on to make a significant contribution to the ongoing success of the Club at both local and national levels.

As one of a group of Junior Leaders within the Club in the 2004 season Eva was very much involved in the preparations for the hosting of the No Name Club Youth Awards and Cabaret Finals that were staged by the St Josephs (Mayfield) Club in the Silversprings Moran Hotel, Cork for the very first time.

Eva was also chosen through the interview process to be an escort to one of the contestants in the final of the host category of the Youth Awards on that occasion.

Following the success of the 2004 National Finals the St Josephs (Mayfield) No Name Club adult committee nominated the group of junior leaders within the club for consideration for an award and they won the 2004 Lord Mayor’s Community and Voluntary Award in the Children and Youth category.

The No Name Club was founded in Kilkenny in 1978 with the stated aims being to:

-Reduce the pressures that influence young people to over dependence on alcohol and drugs by building up their confidence and self esteem.

-To demonstrate through active involvement that it was possible to organise and enjoy a social event without the use of alcohol and other drugs.

-To create community awareness of the benefits that accrue from a reduced dependence on alcohol and other drugs.

-To utilise local resources to develop young community leaders with responsible attitudes.

There are many similarities between the No Name Club Annual Youth Award competition which is a scaled down model of the Rose of Tralee event. Contestants in the No Name Club Annual Youth Award finals in the Hostess of the Year category are selected through the interview process as in the case of the Rose of Tralee selection procedure. In fact the St Josephs (Mayfield) No Name Club representative in the Cork Rose selection final on the 11th June next, Eva O Gorman, was an escort to one of the finalists in the 2004 No Name Club National Youth Awards finals that were hosted by the Mayfield based Club in the Silversprings Moran Hotel, Cork.

On behalf of everyone involved in the St Josephs (Mayfield) No Name Club and the entire population of Mayfield we wish Eva O Gorman the very best of luck and every success in the Cork Rose Final.


For the first time in the history of the St Joseph’ s,  Mayfield No Name Club, the local group entered a contestant in this year’s Cork Rose of Tralee contest.

Eva O’Gorman, who was born and bred in Mayfield, s the year’s official St Joseph’s No Name Club Rose.

Eva is a teacher in Scoil Mhuire Banrion in Mayfield , and was a member of the local club between 2002 & 2003. She is still in regular contact with club organisers.

Last week she met up with current members to speak to them about the impact the club has had in her life and also to drum up support for the Rose of Tralee festival.

“This is the first time the club has nominated someone for the competition and with the club celebrating its 30th anniversary last year, I’m delighted to promote it and get the No Name Club out there as a positive initiative for young people,” Eva said.

Eva was a prominent member of the club when the when Cork hosted the national Youth Awards final in the Silver Springs Moran Hotel a few years ago.

St Joseph’s Mayfield No Name Club secretary Joe Mullane said all there were thrilled to have a Rose representing the local branch of such a prominent organisation.

“Eva would have plenty of practice as in the No Name Club we have hosts and hostesses and our club awards are black tie affairs.

This is really breaking new ground for us and we are very proud of Eva,” he said.

Based at the St Josephs Community centre, the voluntary organisation was founded in Mayfield in 1998 to provide an alternative to the pub culture for young people in the area.

The club helps young people to build self esteem and self belief.

Since the club was founded it has made a major contribution to the quality of life of hundreds of young people and their families in the Mayfield Community.

Throughout the club’s 10 year history it has received a number of awards, including the No Name Club of the Year Award in the Community Impact Category in 2002.

It also collected the Cork Lord Mayor’s Community and Voluntary Award in the Children and youth Category in 2004.

John Long St Josephs-Mayfield recieving Garda Award